Welcome to the Columbia County
Agriculture and Farmland Protection Board

We hope that this site will provide you with the necessary tools to stay informed of our current projects as well as past.

The Columbia County Agriculture & Farmland Protection Board (AFPB) was established in 1992 by authority of NYS Agriculture & Markets Law Article 25AA.

The AFPB consists of eleven members including up to six members representing active farmers and agribusiness and the following positions: chairman of the county soil & water conservation district board of directors (or designee), a member of the County Board of Supervisors, a county cooperative extension agent, the county planning director, and the county director of real property tax services.